Dame Jane Glover leads the Music of the Baroque Chorus, Orchestra, and four world renowned soloists—Yulia Van Doren, Elizabeth DeShong, James Gilchrist, and Michael Sumuel—in Bach’s imaginative Easter Oratorio, a journey from a cavern’s darkness into the magnificent light of heaven. Gilchrist takes a solo turn in Bach’s only surviving cantata for tenor, “I, wretched man.” The motet "Komm, Jesu, komm" and the thrilling Sinfonia in D Major—possibly a fragment of a lost violin concerto—complete this all-Bach spring extravaganza.

Sinfonia in D Major, BWV 1045
"Komm, Jesu, komm," BWV 229
Cantata No. 55, "Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht"*
Easter Oratorio, BWV 249

Music of the Baroque Chorus and Orchestra
Dame Jane Glover, conductor
Yulia Van Doren, soprano
Elizabeth DeShong, mezzo-soprano
James Gilchrist, tenor
Michael Sumuel, bass-baritone