Looking to renew your Chamber Music Series subscription? Call the Box Office at 312-334-7777 (Monday – Friday, 12 p.m. – 5 p.m.). 

Taking a moment to reflect on something – an event, the past, your own experiences – can be a catalyst to deeper understandings, personal growth and change, and even, in some cases, healing. This program brings the power of reflection to center stage, beginning with a moving, recent composition by James Lee III, reflecting on the numerous challenges presented to humanity in 2020, titled Ekah. The program continues with a Partita for Violin and Piano by Polish composer Grazyna Bacewicz, interweaving movements reflective in mood and dynamic in style.  In celebration of the 100th anniversary of his birth the end of the first half is fittingly Ligeti’s Horn Trio, in homage to and after the style of Brahms’ horn trio, taking time to reflect on the past while blazing a path for the future.  To finish the program is Brahms’ own piano trio in B major, originally composed in 1854, but after much introspective thought revised in 1889.

Widman | Air (2005)
Lee III | Ekah for Cello and Piano (2020)
Brahms | Trio in E-flat major for Horn, Violin, and Piano, Op. 40 (1865)
Brahms | Trio in B major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 8 (1854, rev. 1889)

Gilled Vonsattel, Piano
James Thompson, Violin
Sihao He, Cello
David Byrd-Marrow, Hor

HTP Mainstage Sponsor

Chamber Music Series Corporate Sponsor

Performance Sponsor