Chicago Philharmonic
Scott Speck
Artistic Director and Principal Conductor

William Grant Still Symphony No. 1 (Afro-American)
Heitor Villa-Lobos Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4, Preludio
Arturo Márquez Danzón No. 2
Florence Price Ethiopia's Shadow in America
Jonathan Bingham Monograph

On October 13, Chicago Philharmonic and Maestro Speck return to the Harris Theater for Music and Dance for a concert featuring groundbreaking American composer William Grant Still’s Symphony No. 1, dubbed the Afro-American Symphony. Also featured are Brazilian composer Heitor Villa-Lobos’ Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4, weaving together Bach’s counterpoint and Brazilian folk music; Arturo Márquez’s racing Danzón No. 2, an homage to the music and dance style that began in Cuba and later took root in the Veracruz region on Mexico; and Florence Price’s folk-tinged Ethiopia’s Shadow in America. Donna Milanovich Composer in Residence Jonathan Bingham will join the orchestra for the Chicago Premiere of Monograph for orchestra, after his 2021 premiere Tautology inspired Chicago Classical Review to call Bingham “a young American composer worth watching.”