Sonorous Earth

Chicago Philharmonic

Scott Speck, conductor
Third Coast Percussion
Augusta Read Thomas, composer

Augusta Read Thomas Sonorous Earth
Joan Tower Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 5
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter)

Explore the meditative and profound sounds of the ringing earth when the Chicago Philharmonic unites with 2017 Grammy award-winning Third Coast Percussion and composer Augusta Read Thomas for the world premiere of the immersive Sonorous Earth. Inspired by her 2012 composition Resounding Earth with the groundbreaking Chicago percussion ensemble, the piece is described as “extraordinarily singular” and heavily featured is Thomas’ trademark use of bells.

Accompanying the new work is a piece from another ground-breaking female composer, Joan Tower’s fifth Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman. The final of five compositions in the series, this fanfare is an ode to risk-taking and adventurous women across the  world, written by a composer who herself paved the way for women to find their musical voice.

Rounding out the program is the exhilarating Symphony No. 41 (Jupiter), Mozart’s last symphony. Powerful, uplifting and transcendent, much like the Roman god from which it got its nickname, the Jupiter, provides a magnificent finale in celebration of our rich universe.