Sounds from the Future: Musicians of the AACM


Michael Lewanski, conductor
Tomeka Reid, cello

Reid | Prospective Dwellers
Smith | Delta Blues [World Premiere]
Mitchell | New Work [World Premiere, MusicNOW Commission]
Made possible through the generous support of Helen Zell
Lewis | Tales of the Traveler

MusicNOW celebrates the 55th anniversary of Chicago’s own Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM), founded in May 1965. The AACM pays homage to the diverse styles of expression within the body of black music in the U.S., Africa and throughout the world, an experience that extends from ancient traditions to futuristic sounds. The CSO honors the organization’s long history and its profound impact on modern music with a world premiere of a newly commissioned work by Nicole Mitchell, the world premiere of Delta Blues by Wadada Leo Smith and works by George Lewis and Tomeka Reid, who also appears as a guest soloist.

For more information about accessible services at the Harris, please visit our Accessibility page.