Young Masters

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

The piano quartet, consisting of piano, violin, viola, and cello, was basically invented by Mozart. His two immensely popular works in the genre paved the way for a far-reaching succession of piano quartets by major composers, all the way into the 20th century. With Mozart’s remarkable innovation to open this concert, contrasting works by two of the greatest German composers follow, offering a bird’s-eye view of a rich, 100-year musical landscape.

Mozart | Quartet in G minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, K. 478 (1785)
Mendelssohn | Quintet No. 1 in A major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 18 (1826; rev. 1832)
Strauss | Quartet in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 13 (1883-84)

Gilles Vonsattel, piano
Alexi Kenney, Arnaud Sussmann, violin
Yura Lee, Richard O’Neill, viola
David Requiro, cello

Accessible Services

Accessible Seating Listening Devices Large Print 

For more information about accessible services at the Harris, please visit our Accessibility page.

Event Sponsors