Show run time: 2 hours, including intermission.  

Artists of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center perform one of the most beloved works of the chamber repertoire, Schubert’s “Trout” Quintet. Written when the composer was only 22, the piece demonstrates his genius for melodic composition, and also features unique instrumentation; unlike other piano quintets, it has only one violin and adds a double bass, giving the ensemble a rich, sonorous texture. Also on the program are works by Mozart and W. F. Bach.

W.F. Bach      Fugue in F minor for Violin, Viola, and Cello
Mozart          Adagio and Fugue in C minor for Strings, K. 546 (1788)
Mozart          Quartet in E-flat major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, K. 493 (1786)
Schubert       Quintet in A major for Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Double Bass, D. 667, Op. 114, “Trout” (1819)

Wu Han, piano
Julian Rhee, violin
Arnaud Sussmann, violin
Paul Neubauer, viola
Sterling Elliott, cello
Anthony Manzo, double bass

An ensemble of musicians on stage lifting their bow's as if they are finished playing.

Subscribe to our 24/25 Season!


Harris Theater Presents Sponsor

Lead Program Sponsor